Wednesday, April 9, 2008

All 52 members honored are "R"s- No "D"s make the list!

National Taxpayers Union


both Oklahoma Senators!

Both of Oklahoma's U.S. Senators- Jim Inhofe and Tom Coburn have received the “Taxpayers’ Friend Award” from the National Taxpayers Union (NTU) ( Their continued efforts to protect and support the taxpayers of Oklahoma and the nation resulted in the award. At a time when Congress’s fiscal ratings dropped close to an all-time low, Inhofe and Cobrun were two of only 52 members in both the House and the Senate to receive the NTU’s "Taxpayers’ Friend Award” this year. Both of Oklahoma's Senators were ranked in the top 10- Tom Coburn(89%) was 2nd and Inhofe(83%) was 8th. Senator Jim DeMint from South Carolina was the most conservative fiscal Senator according to the NTU with a rating of 93%. Congressman Jeff Flake from Arizona was the most fiscal conservative in the House with a 96% rating.

None of Oklahoma's US House delegation received the award this year- overall rating for the state delegation was 65%( see chart above). The award required the member to vote with the NTU 85% of the time on bills before the US House. A total of only 42 members of the U.S. House were recognized by the NTU this year. You can check out the ratings at


Since it was founded over 35 years ago, the National Taxpayers Union's Number One job has been helping to protect every single American's right to keep what they've earned. Our guiding principle has always been: "This is your money and the government should return it to you." We are a nonprofit, non-partisan citizen group whose members work every day for lower taxes and smaller government at all levels.

No comments: